header bg University South Asia Sharpstown Chinatown Harwin Westwood

SWMD March on Crime 2019

On March 13, the Southwest District held their Annual March on Crime Law Enforcement Appreciation Luncheon at Houston Baptist University. Each year, the Southwest District takes time to show appreciation to Houston Police Department and to the business community for their ongoing support to keep the District safe.

This year's Corporate Award went to the Indus Management Group, for their financial support in 2018 for Westside and Midwest Divisions.

Each HPD Commander nominates an Officer of the Year to receive the recognition. The Southwest District is represented by three Divisions: Midwest, South Gessner and Westside. Honorees this year were:

Officer Melissa Lopez, Midwest Division. Officer Lopez is the very first Female Officer of the Year selected at the March on Crime Luncheon and she received her award from Division Commander Yasar Bashir.

Officer Ricky Lopez, South Gessner Division was presented his Officer of the Year award by Lt. James Skelton representing Division Commander Craig Bellamy, who unfortunately had to miss the event due to mandatory training.

Sgt. Travis Parkerson, Westside Division received his award Officer of the Year from Lt. Timothy Trometer representing Divison Commander Michael Faulhaber.

On hand to help honor the men and women of HPD were District Attorney Kim Ogg and Assistant Chief Wendy Baimbridge. Southwest Board Chair Kenneth Li recognized members of the Board, along with dignitaries. Public Safety Committee Chair, Peter Acquaro, delivered heartfelt remarks from his earliest memories growing up in a home where his father served in law enforcement.

Special thanks to Houston Baptist University and to the Houston Apartment Association, which provided funding for the awards. Westside Explorers presented the colors, and Sgt. Troy Teter from Houston Police Department Public Affairs sang the National Anthem. Over 270 people were in attendance to show their support and appreciation to all of our dedicated law enforcement professionals who serve the community.